#UKLibChat

My second (professional) new year’s resolution was to start attending and contributing to #UKlibchat – a fortnightly twitter discussion group about library issue.  Last Thursday I attended the first #UKLibChat of the year.  The topic was Libraries and Librarians in 2012.  I particularly enjoyed the first question: “What was your biggest achievement of 2011?”  I think it’s important to focus on what we have already achieved sometimes, rather than always concentrating on what we’ve still got left to do.   I found it interesting to hear views from participants with wide-ranging library backgrounds and think this is a great way to bounce ideas off other people.

Before attending #UKLibChat my first task was to properly set up a twitter account and work out how to use twitter.  Last year I tried to follow the chat on Library School, but as I only got round to signing up for twitter about five minutes before it started, I got rather lost and confused, so didn’t contribute anything.  This time I was more prepared.  I spent some time a couple of days before going through the twitter help centre – wonderful for demystifying twitter terminology – and signed up for HootSuite which I found made it much easier to keep track of the conversation.  Although I am still getting used to twitter, I really enjoyed the experience and I’ll definitely be back for another #UKLibChat.

One thought on “#UKLibChat

  1. Annie Johnson says:

    Hi Lizzie, welcome to blogging and Twitter! Thanks for adding my blog to your blogroll 🙂 I really liked that first question on #uklibchat too, we always seem to be asking what’s wrong with libraries/librarians (which is important to do, don’t get me wrong) so it was really nice to focus on positive achievements people are making!

Leave a Reply

