Thing 1: Blogging for cpd23

I’ve decided to take part in 23 things for professional development, also known as cpd23. It’s an online professional development course for librarians, with a new ‘thing’ to explore and blog about each week.

Firstly, a bit about me.  I’m a geological sciences graduate currently working as a graduate trainee at the Radcliffe Science Library, the science library of the Bodleian Libraries at Oxford University, and in September I’ll be starting an MA in Library and Information Studies at UCL (exciting!).

I’m not entirely new to blogging.  I started this blog back in January to reflect on my experiences as a graduate trainee, but for various reasons it has become a bit neglected.  I’m hoping cpd23 will give me the motivation to get into the habit of blogging regularly.  I’m not expecting it to be easy to keep up with and I’m glad there are a couple of catch up weeks, but I’m determined to make it to the end.  I’ve thought about/used most of the things that will be coming up, but not necessarily all that much and I think it will be useful to evaluate them and have to put my thoughts into words.  I’m really looking forward to hearing everyone else’s views on the things too.  I’m particularly looking forward to thing 6: real life networks, as that’s something I’d like to get myself involved in, and hearing about other people’s experiences of librarianship training options in things 9 and 10.

2 thoughts on “Thing 1: Blogging for cpd23

  1. acatinthelibrary says:

    Hi Lizzie thanks for comment on my blog. Yes I am looking forward to learning many useful Things too! hope you are enjoying being a graduate trainee, you are lucky to working in Oxford. Catherine

Leave a Reply

