Thing 2: Lots and lots of blogs

This post was written for 23 Things for Professional Development, Thing 2: Investigate some other blogs

For thing 2 I’ve been having a look at other cpd23 blogs, and there are LOTS.  I already use Google Reader to follow blogs, and I wanted to add some cpd23 blogs to that.  I want to hear views from as wide a range of people as possible and with only one or two posts on most people’s blogs it was really hard to choose who to follow.   How can I know at this stage who I will find interesting?  In the end I picked about 30 blogs almost at random.  I don’t want to miss anything, but I didn’t want to follow everyone as I think I would just be swamped – I’m hoping that any amazing blog posts will be brought to my attention via twitter.  Though if you think I should be following your blog comment on here and try to persuade me!

On a side note, some blogs I already follow which I really enjoy are the Undergraduate Science Librarian, Laura’s Dark Archive, Dymvue, Organising Chaos and Clare’s Aber Antics (this list is by no means exhaustive).

I’ve also been having a go at commenting on other people’s blogs.  This is something I’ve done very little of before, mainly because it feels a bit intrusive.  But if someone’s written a blog post they must want people to read it and any feedback is useful.  Even just knowing someone has read it and doesn’t think it is entirely pointless is encouraging.  Once I started commenting it became easier and this is something I’ll definitely try to keep up.

5 thoughts on “Thing 2: Lots and lots of blogs

  1. emmabettyhughes says:

    Jumping ahead to Thing 3 (!) you have some good branding, which is something I really need to work on. Thank you for providing links to other blogs, I will also look at these for part of Thing 2. Hope you’re enjoying CPD23 so far and Oxford (I used to live there, it’s beautiful!)

    • Lizzie Atkinson says:

      Thanks! I’m definitely enjoying cpd23, I hope you are too. I’m finding it really useful already and, being a bit nosy , I’ve been enjoying reading everyone else’s blog posts.

  2. Rosie Hare says:

    Hi Lizzie,

    In terms of honest comments about your blog, it is well informed, well written and you definitely come across as very dedicated. I’ve added your blog to my google reader so will keep up with it in the future!

Leave a Reply

